Showing revision #ce016a37 of page Abolish_Police


Why we want to abolish the police

Some resources to start with:


Source code

Some resources to start with:
- [Our Enemies In Blue: Police and Power in America](http://www.infoshop.org/pdfs/Our-Enemies-in-Blue.pdf) by Kristian Williams  
- [Revolution and Restorative Justice: An Anarchist Perspective](https://abolitionjournal.org/revolution-restorative-justice-anarchist-perspective/) by Peter Kletsan  

- [Alternatives to Police](http://www.usprisonculture.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/alternatives-to-police-web.pdf) (PDF) by Rose City Copwatch (2008)
- [Alternatives to the Police](http://www.mcgilldaily.com/PoliceIssue/Restorative-Justice.html) by Evan Dent, Molly Korab, and Farid Rener
- [The Avant-garde of White Supremacy](https://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~marto/avantguard.htm) by Steve Martinot and Jared Sexton
- [Broken Windows is On Hiatus: Community Interventions We Can Enact Now for Real Justice](https://www.autostraddle.com/broken-windows-is-on-hiatus-community-interventions-we-can-enact-now-for-real-justice-271625/) by Hannah Hodson
- [Can We Build an Anti-Policing Movement that Isn’t Anti-Police?](https://radfag.com/2014/12/29/can-we-build-an-anti-policing-movement-that-isnt-anti-police/) by Radical Faggot
- [Citizens, Cops, and Power: Recognizing the Limits of Community](http://www.powells.com/book/citizens-cops-and-power-9780226327310/61-0) by Steve Herbert
- [Feeling for the Edge of your Imagination: finding ways not to call the police](http://imaginealternatives.tumblr.com/)
- [A New Year’s Resolution: Don’t Call the Police](http://www.truth-out.org/opinion/item/28215-a-new-years-resolution-don-t-call-the-police) by Mike Ludwig
- [Not Calling the Police](http://www.usprisonculture.com/blog/2012/03/08/not-calling-the-police/) by Prison Culture
- [Origins of the Police](https://worxintheory.wordpress.com/2014/12/07/origins-of-the-police/) by David Whitehouse
- [The Other Side of the COIN](http://www.interfacejournal.net/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Interface-3-1-Williams.pdf) (PDF) by Kristian Williams.
- [Policing is a Dirty Job, But Nobody’s Gotta Do It: 6 Ideas for a Cop-Free World](http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/news/policing-is-a-dirty-job-but-nobodys-gotta-do-it-6-ideas-for-a-cop-free-world-20141216#ixzz3MAjhe2IM) by Jose Martin
- [Policing Slaves Since the 1600s](http://therebelpress.com/articles/show?id=2) by Auandaru Nirhan
- [The Shanti Sena ‘peace center’ and the non-policing of an anarchist temporary autonomous zone: Rainbow Family peacekeeping strategies](http://www.usprisonculture.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Niman.pdf) (PDF) by  Michael Niman
- [Stop Kidding Yourself: The Police Were Created to Control Working Class and Poor People](http://lawcha.org/wordpress/2014/12/29/stop-kidding-police-created-control-working-class-poor-people/) by Sam Mitrani
- [We Don’t Just Need Nicer Cops. We Need Fewer Cops](https://www.thenation.com/article/we-dont-just-need-nicer-cops-we-need-fewer-cops/) by Alex S. Vitale
- [What Does It Mean to Be Anti-Police?](https://www.thenation.com/article/what-does-it-mean-be-anti-police/) by Alex S. Vitale
- [Where abolition meets action: women organizing against gender violence](http://www.usprisonculture.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/vikkilaw.pdf) (PDF) by Vikki Law