Showing revision #23b331ca of page reading


Raddle Reading List

POLITICS


ANARCHISM

FOR BEGINNERS

"Anarchy", Errico Malatesta

"What Is Communist Anarchism?" Alexander Berkman

"Anarchy Works", Peter Gelderloos

"Anarchism and Other Essays", Emma Goldman (The first chapter, "Anarchism: What it Really Stands For", is a brilliant foundational text.)

"The Conquest of Bread", Peter Kropotkin

FURTHER READING

"God and the State", Mikhail Bakunin

"Marxism, Freedom and the State", Mikhail Bakunin (Bakunin's case against the dictatorship of the proletariat)

"Anarchism: from theory to practice", Daniel Guerin

"Anarchism and Anarcho-Syndicalism", Rudolf Rocker

"Fighting for ourselves: Anarcho-syndicalism and the class struggle", Solidarity Federation (A more contemporary introduction to anarcho-syndicalism)

"Mutual Aid", Peter Kropotkin

"Organisational Platform of the Libertarian Communists", Dielo Truda (Workers’ Cause) (Historical importance; platformism)

"The Anarchist Synthesis", Sébastien Faure (Historical importance; synthesis anarchism)

"At Daggers Drawn with the Existent, its Defenders and its False Critics", Anonymous (Compelling introduction to insurrectionism)

"Socialism, Anarchism And Feminism", Carol Ehrlich

"The Anarchist Ethic in the Age of the Anti-Globalization Movement", Anonymous (Insurrectionist classic)

"Listen, Marxist!", Murray Bookchin

"The Abolition of Work", Bob Black

"The Negativity of Anarchism", David Wieck (Good basic analysis of what ties all variations of anarchism together)

"The Anarchist Tension", Alfredo M. Bonanno (Reevaluation of anarchism from insurrectionist perspective)

"From Democracy to Freedom", CrimethInc. (Best overview of anarchist critique of democracy)

"Obsolete communism: The left wing alternative", Daniel and Gabriel Cohn-Bendit (An account of the May '68 uprising)

"Deserting the Digital Utopia", CrimethInc. (Important reality check in this digital age)

"What is Security Culture?", CrimethInc

"Toward the Creative Nothing", Renzo Novatore

"The Kronstadt Uprising of 1921", Ida Mett

"The End of Anarchism?", Luigi Galleani

"Postanarchism in a Nutshell", Jason Adams


COMMUNISATION

"Communization and its Discontents, Benjamin Noys"

"The Coming Insurrection", Comité invisible

Bring Out Your Dead

"When Insurrections Die", Gilles Dauvé (Brilliant critique from communisation tendency.)

"Eclipse and reemergence of the communist movement", Gilles Dauvé and François Martin

"Endnotes, issue 1" (a debate between GD and TC over the basis for the failure of the old workers movement)

"Insurrection and Production", Angry Workers World


COMMUNISM

"The Principles of Communism", Frederick Engels

"The Communist Manifesto, Karl Marx & Frederick Engels"

"Karl Marx", Vladimir Lenin

"Capitalism and Communism", Gilles Dauvé

"The Reproduction of Everyday Life", Fredy Perlman (Good intro to some Marxist concepts such as alienation, commodity fetishism, etc.)

"An Introduction to the Situationists", Jan D. Matthews

"The Society of the Spectacle", Guy Debord (Foundational situ text)

"The State and Revolution", Vladimir Lenin


INSURRECTIONIST & ILLEGALISM

"Armed Joy", Alfredo Bonanno

"I Saw Fire: Reflections on Riots, Revolt & The Black Block, Doug Gilbert"

"Some notes on Insurrectionary Anarchism", Sasha K

"Why Insurrection?" Alfredo M. Bonanno

"Civil Disobedience", Henry David Thoreau

"The Illegalists”, Doug Imrie

"Fire At Midnight Destruction At Dawn", Kasimere Bran

"At Daggers Drawn", Anonymous

"Call", Anonymous


POST-LEFT, POST-ANARCHISM & EGOISM

"The Unique & Its Property", Max Stirner

"Whatever You Do, Get Away with It" by Jason McQuinn

"Leftism 101" by Lawrence Jarach

"Anarchists, Don't let the Left(overs) Ruin your Appetite" by Lawrence Jarach

"The Revolution of Everyday Life", Raoul Vaneigem

"Critical Analysis of the Left: Lets Clean House" by Joaquin Cienfuegos

"Critical Thinking as an Anarchist Weapon" by Wolfi Landstreicher & Jason McQuinn

"Against Organizationalism: Anarchism as both Theory & Critique of Organization" by Jason McQuinn

"Demoralizing Moralism: The Futility of Fetishized Values" by Jason McQuinn

"From Politics to Life: Ridding anarchy of the leftist millstone" by Wolfi Landstreicher (heavily critiqued by Lilith in "Gender Disobedience: Antifeminism & Insurrectionist Non-dialogue"

Radical Theory: A Wrecking Ball for Ivory Towers" by Wolfi Landstreicher

"Against Mass Society" by Chris Wilson

"On Organization" by Jacques Camatte

"Pilsen: Chicago’s Revolution of Everyday Life" by Silas Crane

"Anarchy in the Age of Dinosaurs"

"Days of War, Nights of Love" by CrimethInc


SOCIALISM

"Socialism: Utopian and Scientific", Frederick Engels

"The Soul of Man under Socialism", Oscar Wilde (The artists, and individualists, case for libertarian socialism)

"Discourse on Voluntary Servitude", Étienne De La Boétie


Source code

# POLITICS

***

## ANARCHISM

**FOR BEGINNERS**

["Anarchy", Errico Malatesta](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/errico-malatesta-anarchy)

["What Is Communist Anarchism?" Alexander Berkman](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/alexander-berkman-what-is-communist-anarchism)

["Anarchy Works", Peter Gelderloos](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/peter-gelderloos-anarchy-works)

["Anarchism and Other Essays", Emma Goldman](https://libcom.org/library/anarchism-other-essays) (The first chapter, "Anarchism: What it Really Stands For", is a brilliant foundational text.)

["The Conquest of Bread", Peter Kropotkin](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/petr-kropotkin-the-conquest-of-bread)

**FURTHER READING**

["God and the State", Mikhail Bakunin](https://libcom.org/library/god-and-state-mikhail-bakunin)

["Marxism, Freedom and the State", Mikhail Bakunin](https://libcom.org/library/marxism-freedom-state-mikhail-bakunin) (Bakunin's case against the dictatorship of the proletariat)

["Anarchism: from theory to practice", Daniel Guerin](https://libcom.org/library/anarchism-daniel-guerin)

["Anarchism and Anarcho-Syndicalism", Rudolf Rocker](https://libcom.org/library/anarchism-and-anarcho-syndicalism-rudolf-rocker)

["Fighting for ourselves: Anarcho-syndicalism and the class struggle", Solidarity Federation](https://libcom.org/library/fighting-ourselves-anarcho-syndicalism-class-struggle-solidarity-federation) (A more contemporary introduction to anarcho-syndicalism)

["Mutual Aid", Peter Kropotkin](https://libcom.org/library/mutual-aid-peter-kropotkin)

["Organisational Platform of the Libertarian Communists", Dielo Truda (Workers’ Cause)](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/dielo-truda-workers-cause-organisational-platform-of-the-libertarian-communists) (Historical importance; platformism)

["The Anarchist Synthesis", Sébastien Faure](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/sebastien-faure-the-anarchist-synthesis) (Historical importance; synthesis anarchism)  

["At Daggers Drawn with the Existent, its Defenders and its False Critics", Anonymous](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/anonymous-at-daggers-drawn-with-the-existent-its-defenders-and-its-false-critics) (Compelling introduction to insurrectionism)

["Socialism, Anarchism And Feminism", Carol Ehrlich](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/carol-ehrlich-socialism-anarchism-and-feminism) 

["The Anarchist Ethic in the Age of the Anti-Globalization Movement", Anonymous](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/anonymous-the-anarchist-ethic-in-the-age-of-the-anti-globalization-movement) (Insurrectionist classic)

["Listen, Marxist!", Murray Bookchin](https://libcom.org/library/listen-marxist-bookchin)

["The Abolition of Work", Bob Black](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/bob-black-the-abolition-of-work)

["The Negativity of Anarchism", David Wieck](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/david-wieck-the-negativity-of-anarchism) (Good basic analysis of what ties all variations of anarchism together)

["The Anarchist Tension", Alfredo M. Bonanno](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/alfredo-m-bonanno-the-anarchist-tension) (Reevaluation of anarchism from insurrectionist perspective)

["From Democracy to Freedom", CrimethInc.](https://crimethinc.com/2012/04/29/feature-from-democracy-to-freedom) (Best overview of anarchist critique of democracy)

["Obsolete communism: The left wing alternative", Daniel and Gabriel Cohn-Bendit](https://libcom.org/history/obsolete-communism-left-wing-alternative) (An account of the May '68 uprising)

["Deserting the Digital Utopia", CrimethInc.](https://crimethinc.com/2013/10/04/feature-deserting-the-digital-utopia) (Important reality check in this digital age)

["What is Security Culture?", CrimethInc](https://crimethinc.com/2004/11/01/what-is-security-culture)

["Toward the Creative Nothing", Renzo Novatore](http://archive.elephanteditions.net/library/renzo-novatore-toward-the-creative-nothing)  

["The Kronstadt Uprising of 1921", Ida Mett](https://libcom.org/library/the-kronstadt-uprising-ida-mett)

["The End of Anarchism?", Luigi Galleani](http://archive.elephanteditions.net/library/luigi-galleani-the-end-of-anarchism)

["Postanarchism in a Nutshell", Jason Adams](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/jason-adams-postanarchism-in-a-nutshell)

***

## COMMUNISATION

["Communization and its Discontents, Benjamin Noys"](https://libcom.org/library/communization-its-discontents-contestation-critique-contemporary-struggles)

["The Coming Insurrection", Comité invisible](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/comite-invisible-the-coming-insurrection)

[Bring Out Your Dead](https://endnotes.org.uk/articles/8)

["When Insurrections Die", Gilles Dauvé](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/gilles-dauve-when-insurrections-die) (Brilliant critique from communisation tendency.)

["Eclipse and reemergence of the communist movement", Gilles Dauvé and François Martin](http://libcom.org/library/eclipse-re-emergence-communist-movement)

["Endnotes, issue 1"](https://endnotes.org.uk/issues/1) (a debate between GD and TC over the basis for the failure of the old workers movement)

["Insurrection and Production", Angry Workers World](https://angryworkersworld.wordpress.com/2016/08/29/insurrection-and-production/) 

***

## COMMUNISM

["The Principles of Communism", Frederick Engels](https://www.marxists.org/archive/marx/works/1847/11/prin-com.htm)

["The Communist Manifesto, Karl Marx & Frederick Engels"](https://www.marxists.org/archive/marx/works/1848/communist-manifesto/)

["Karl Marx", Vladimir Lenin](https://www.marxists.org/archive/lenin/works/1914/granat/index.htm)

["Capitalism and Communism", Gilles Dauvé](https://libcom.org/library/capitalism-communism-gilles-dauve)

["The Reproduction of Everyday Life", Fredy Perlman](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/fredy-perlman-the-reproduction-of-daily-life) (Good intro to some Marxist concepts such as alienation, commodity fetishism, etc.) 

["An Introduction to the Situationists", Jan D. Matthews](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/jan-d-matthews-an-introduction-to-the-situationists)  

["The Society of the Spectacle", Guy Debord](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/guy-debord-the-society-of-the-spectacle) (Foundational situ text)

["The State and Revolution", Vladimir Lenin](https://www.marxists.org/archive/lenin/works/1917/staterev/)

***

## INSURRECTIONIST & ILLEGALISM

["Armed Joy", Alfredo Bonanno](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/alfredo-m-bonanno-armed-joy)

["I Saw Fire: Reflections on Riots, Revolt & The Black Block, Doug Gilbert"](https://archive.org/details/ISawFireReflectionsOnRiotsRevoltAndTheBlackBloc)

["Some notes on Insurrectionary Anarchism", Sasha K](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/sasha-k-some-notes-on-insurrectionary-anarchism)

["Why Insurrection?" Alfredo M. Bonanno](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/alfredo-m-bonanno-why-insurrection)

["Civil Disobedience", Henry David Thoreau](https://www.marxists.org/reference/subject/ethics/thoreau/civil-disobedience.htm) 

["The Illegalists”, Doug Imrie](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/doug-imrie-the-illegalists)

["Fire At Midnight Destruction At Dawn", Kasimere Bran](https://archive.org/details/FireAtMidnightDestructionAtDawn)

["At Daggers Drawn", Anonymous](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/anonymous-at-daggers-drawn-with-the-existent-its-defenders-and-its-false-critics)

["Call", Anonymous](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/anonymous-call)

***

## POST-LEFT, POST-ANARCHISM & EGOISM

["The Unique & Its Property", Max Stirner](https://libcom.org/library/unique-its-property)

["Whatever You Do, Get Away with It" by Jason McQuinn](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/jason-mcquinn-whatever-you-do-get-away-with-it)

["Leftism 101" by Lawrence Jarach](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/lawrence-jarach-leftism-101)

["Anarchists, Don't let the Left(overs) Ruin your Appetite" by Lawrence Jarach](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/lawrence-jarach-anarchists-don-t-let-the-left-overs-ruin-your-appetite)

["The Revolution of Everyday Life", Raoul Vaneigem](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/raoul-vaneigem-the-revolution-of-everyday-life)

["Critical Analysis of the Left: Lets Clean House" by Joaquin Cienfuegos](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/joaquin-cienfuegos-critical-analysis-of-the-left-lets-clean-house)

["Critical Thinking as an Anarchist Weapon" by Wolfi Landstreicher & Jason McQuinn](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/wolfi-landstreicher-critical-thinking-as-an-anarchist-weapon)

["Against Organizationalism: Anarchism as both Theory & Critique of Organization" by Jason McQuinn](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/jason-mcquinn-against-organizationalism-anarchism-as-both-theory-and-critique-of-organization)

["Demoralizing Moralism: The Futility of Fetishized Values" by Jason McQuinn](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/jason-mcquinn-demoralizing-moralism-the-futility-of-fetishized-values)

["From Politics to Life: Ridding anarchy of the leftist millstone" by Wolfi Landstreicher](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/wolfi-landstreicher-from-politics-to-life-ridding-anarchy-of-the-leftist-millstone) [(heavily critiqued by Lilith in "Gender Disobedience: Antifeminism & Insurrectionist Non-dialogue"](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/lilith-gender-disobedience-antifeminism-and-insurrectionist-non-dialogue)

[Radical Theory: A Wrecking Ball for Ivory Towers" by Wolfi Landstreicher](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/feral-faun-essays#toc4)

["Against Mass Society" by Chris Wilson](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/chris-wilson-against-mass-society)

["On Organization" by Jacques Camatte](http://www.marxists.org/archive/camatte/capcom/on-org.htm)

["Pilsen: Chicago’s Revolution of Everyday Life" by Silas Crane](http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/silas-crane-pilsen-chicago-s-revolution-of-everyday-life)

["Anarchy in the Age of Dinosaurs"](https://libcom.org/library/anarchy-age-dinosaurs)

["Days of War, Nights of Love" by CrimethInc](https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Days_of_War,_Nights_of_Love/A)

***

## SOCIALISM

["Socialism: Utopian and Scientific", Frederick Engels](https://www.marxists.org/archive/marx/works/1880/soc-utop/index.htm)

["The Soul of Man under Socialism", Oscar Wilde](https://www.marxists.org/reference/archive/wilde-oscar/soul-man/) (The artists, and individualists, case for libertarian socialism)

["Discourse on Voluntary Servitude", Étienne De La Boétie](https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/etienne-de-la-boetie-discourse-on-voluntary-servitude)