Reply to comment by emma in by !deleted23972
I think both options should be available. If someone decides to leave a site, they should have the option of deleting everything or just retiring their username.
Delete entire history (username, all comments, all posts)
Delete user (retire username)
I'd be ok having this, but I probably won't spend time on it myself. It's not worth it when you can abandon a username by changing it on the same page as the 'delete account' button.
[deleted] wrote (edited )
Just about everything in the database that needs a user reference can't have it set blank. So doing what you're suggesting would be a major undertaking. We could hide the username like is currently done with soft-deleted posts (e.g. those that say [deleted]), but this approach could still leak the username in some circumstances. I'd rather not provide this kind of false security when people can just remove things they're concerned will be associated with them.
Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments